Depression Truths

Butterfly a Day Blog

Depression Truths

I hate how people think that depression is a “phase” or a choice. I did not choose to feel like I was unworthy of life and if I could poof these feelings away, I would! Unfortunately, this is not the case. I did not chose my brain chemistry or my inherited genetic traits and there is very little I can do to change these things. All I can do is to try and fight these feelings and develop stronger reasons and will to live. I do not ask people to pity people with depression or dismiss the actions done because of it. All I ask is for understanding, empathy, and compassion. Do not assume that someone wants depression, self-harms for attention, or woke up one day and decided to have an eating disorder. These are all serious mental disorders which should not be taken lightly, let alone held against someone…

View original post 15 more words

Leave a Reply

